Professor Dr. Eigil Friis-Christensen, Danish National Space Center, DTU

Eigil Friis-Christensen is Director of the Danish National Space Center (DNSC) since 1997. During a major reorganisation of the research institutions in Denmark DNSC merged with the Technical University of Denmark (DTU) in 2007. From 1996 to 2006 he was Adjunct Professor in Geophysics and Space Physics at the Niels Bohr Institute of the University of Copenhagen. His research interests are in the fields of geomagnetism and solar-terrestrial physics.


Professor Dr. Eigil Friis-Christensen, Danish National Space Center, DTUProfessor Dr. Eigil Friis-Christensen, Danish National Space Center, DTU

Eigil Friis-Christensen completed his ph.d. at the University of Copenhagen in 1971. He was employed as a Research Scientist at the Division of Geophysics at the Danish Meteorological Institute (DMI). Here he took part in the establishment of the Greenland Magnetometer Array of which he became the leader in 1976. He became Head of the Solar-Terrestrial Physics Division (DMI) 1991-1997, and was appointed project scientist of the first Danish satellite, Ørsted, launched in February 1999. He was leading the Danish research and instrument teams and established an international science team consisting of more than 60 research groups from 16 countries.

Eigil Friis-Christensen is author or co-author of more than 140 research papers and has presented more than 50 invited papers at international conferences in addition to a large number of contributed papers. He has been invited as a visiting scientist at several major research institutions and universities in USA and Russia. In 1995 he was elected member, and in 2003 VICE-President, of the executive committee of the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy, IAGA.

He has been – and is – engaged in many international projects. He has been a member of the International Steering Committee of the Solar-Terrestrial Energy Programme, STEP and S-RAMP, established by the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU) and Scientific Committee on Solar- Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP). In 2002 he was appointed as Lead Investigator and chair of the Mission Advisory Group (MAG) for Swarm “The Earth’s Magnetic Field and Environment Explorers”, which was selected as the 5th Explorer mission in the Earth Observation “Living Planet” Programme of ESA.

Eigil Friis-Christensen was elected Associate member of the Royal Astronomic Society, London, in 1996, and joined ESA’s Science Programme Committee, SPC, in 1998. He was appointed member of ESA’s Earth Science Advisory Committee, ESAC, in 2003.

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: post@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: post@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS